Temple of Resurrection of Christ
Temple of the Resurrection of Christ in Podgorica, with it`s monumental, architectural and artistic value, is a unique , new, religious building. Construction of the temple began in 1993 and lasted for 20 years.
The temple is dominated by two pirgs – towers, that are 26.7 meters high, and 17 bells are situated in its loft. The weight of the haviest one is around 11 tons and it is the largest bell in Balkan. At foot of the pirgs are chapels (small churche), dedicated to St. Simeon (with baptisery and to St. Jovan Vladimir.
One of the important features of the temple is certainly its artistic decoration. It is one of the largest and most interesting gallery of stone sculpture among religious structures. Frescoes are done in fresco technique, and their background is gilded. The technique of mosaic is used as a segment of the artistic decoration of the temple, which is presented to a large extent. The entrance portal of the temple, besides floor mosaic is also decorated by this technique, and it is dominated by the scene of the Resurrection of Christ which the temple is dedicated to.
Temple of the Resurrection of Christ, with its beauty and monumentality became known throughout Europe and the world and it is the place of pilgrimage of the orthodox believers, but also tourists from foreign countries who see the church as a cultural monument, they should not miss to visit when they are in Montenegro.
The Monastery Ćelija Piperska
It was built in 1637, near the village of Crnci, on the rock which provides a magnificent view of the Bjelopavlici Valley.
According to legend, the foundation of the monastery is connected with St. Stefan Piperski, whose relics are kept in the monastery church dedicated to the Mother of God.
The inside of the church is not painted. The origin iconostasis was made by the nuns after restoration of the monastery in 1994.
Not far from the left bank of the river Moraca, several kilometers northeast of Bioce, in the same village, there is the monastery Duga, with a church dedicated to the Assumption of the Virgin. The monastery church was built in 1755.
After renovation and decoration of all buildings in the complex, the monastery was the place of staying and worship of nuns and it is said to be – nunnery.
Monastery Dajbabe is the orthodox monastery dedicated to the Assumption of the Virgin and is located not far from Podgorica, near the village it was named after.
It was established in 1897, and the natural shape of the cave was used as the place for church. Later, the cave was expanded to obtain the basis form of the church, with extra chapels.
The only visible part of the church is out of the cave and it is a large porch with two bell towers. The interior of the monastery was painted by its founder, monk Simeon Popovic who adapted the scenes to the natural shape of the rock and he worked on its interior until his death in 1941.
The church of St. George
Church of St. George, located at the foot of Gorica Hill, that the town was named after, was built between IX and XI century. During the turbulent history it had several repairs and rebuildings, so that its original look has not been fully preserved. The inside is decorated with frescoes that are the work of an anonymous artist.
The church of St. Demetrius
The Church of Saint Demetrius is the court church at the Winter Palace in Krusevac in Podgorica. It was a family chapel of Peter I Petrovic. It was built of hewn stone, with a dome and square bell tower by bricklayer Milos Lepetic. The iconostasis, decorated with woodcarving and icons, was the work of Vasilije Djinovski, a famous ecclesiastical artist in that time.
Crkva svetog Nikole na Medunu
The Roman Catholic Church
The Roman Catholic Church is situated in Podgorica – Konik. It is dedicated to the Sacred Heart of Jesus and has less than 2 000 believers.
The Skender Čauseva – Starodoganjska Mosque
The Skender Čauseva – Starodoganjska Mosque was built in the late XV century. The Osmanagic Mosque and the Clock tower were built by Hadzi Mehmed – pasha Osmanagic in the late XVIII century. Mehmed Pasha Osmanagic built a tomb for himself in the courtyard of the mosque. During World War II bombing has caused extensive damage, and it was in ruins up to 1997, when it was thoroughly renovated.