Podgorica is built on the foundations of ancient settlements. Since the time of the Middle Paleolithic the development and emergence of different cultures can be continuosly observed:. Greeks, Illyrians, Romans, Huns, Goths, Slavs, Byzantines and Ottomans, they were fighting for the benefits of the region where sea and the high mountains flavour combine, and they all left their trace.
Illyrian tribes Labeata and Dokleata lived in this area up until the Roman conquest.The Labeati inhabited the area of the Zeta valley, south of present- day Podgorica to Lake Skadar, as well as the area east of the river Moraca, downstream. West of the river Moraca, along the river Zeta lived the Docleati. Their most important fortification was at the mouth of the rivers Zeta and Moraca which later on developed into the town of Doclea. The earliest settlement at the mouth of Ribnica and Moraca – the caravan settlement, Birziminium, is just indicated in the ancient writings, but drawn by Roman cartographers. Doclea, a town that was first mentioned by Ptolemy in the second century BC, was a great place for that time, with 8 to 10 thousand people in the area with little more than ten miles in diameter, but complete utility infrastructure was there. It was destroyed in 602.
The name Podgorica was mentioned for the first time in 1326, when the town development started. Turks conquered powerful fortress of Medun in 1455 and in 1474 Podgorica also. Four centuries of Turkish rule began at that time. Where the river Ribnica joins the Moraca, on the foundations of the medieval city of Ribnica the Turks built a fortress, where later on a settlement developed, nowday's Stara Varoš.
On Wasteland (sometimes used for camping of Turkish army) Nova Varoš was built - one time called Mirkova town -after the Duke Mirko, the father of King Nikola I Petrovic.
In World War II, Podgorica was bombed over 70 times and was razed to the ground. It was released on December 19th 1944. It was called Titograd from July 13th 1946 (when it became the capital of the Republic of Montenegro) to April 2nd in 1992.
Photo gallery of old Podgorica
Photo gallery of Titograd